hail

 

A few weeks ago, we experienced some adverse weather in our area.  What I thought would be a regular thunder storm actually produced some rather large hail.  It was easily as big as the end of my thumb!

The kids and I took it as a learning opportunity.  We stood on our front porch, which is full of windows, and watched the hail bounce on the ground as it fell.  Once the hail was done falling, I ran outside and collected some in a bowl for the kids to explore.  We put a few in a smaller bowl and popped them in the freezer so that Daddy could see them when he got home.

I can’t remember the last time I saw hail this large!  And the kids really enjoyed this unexpected chance to explore a weather phenomenon!

Why not use real-life weather patterns to fuel a science discussion with your kids?

