birthday-invitation-1

Making birthday invitations is a great way to get your child doing some art!  It is very similar to cardmaking, but this is just another application for the using same techniques.

The invitation above is one that my eldest son made a couple of years ago for his Link-themed birthday party.  I already had all of the supplies he needed, except for the Hyrulian Crest stamp from etsy.

birthday-invitation-2

He used an invitation stamp with fancy lettering inside, and went back to fill in the details later by hand.  My son really enjoyed this hands-on projects.  They didn’t turn out perfect, but he got the satisfaction of doing the job himself.

It can be difficult to hand over party details like this to your kids, but it is well worth it.  I’ve started trusting my kids to do more, instead of taking over because of my perfectionistic nature.

