Stamps 1-w

Pictured is the lot of approximately 1,000 stamps my son and I bid on and won, courtesy of eBay.  I recently handed over my stamp collection to my son.  He had been asking for some time to start collecting something.  I didn’t have any great ideas at the time, so he took it upon himself to start collecting caps off of any and all food containers.  I didn’t have the heart to tell him that those items are not typical collectibles and not worth anything.  He’s young, he’ll learn it sooner or later.

Fast-forward a couple of months, and I stumbled on a scrapbook album that I had started mounting stamps in.  My mother-in-law had given me an envelope full of interesting foreign stamps: different African countries, Bahrain, England, etc.  I mounted most of them at least a couple of years ago, then stuck the album on a shelf and left it sitting.  When I stumbled on the book again, I knew it would be the perfect thing for my son.  A collection that already had a head-start, was small and contained, not too expensive to start collecting, and actually interesting to look at.  He was excited to get my old album, and the next day we started checking out online auctions.  We bid on an eBay auction for 1,000 stamps and won it!  Hey–we were excited; not much happens at our house.

The entire lot fit in a thick business-size envelope.  I really was expecting something larger, but I counted the stamps, and we received the correct amount.  I decided to store them in my cupcake transporter-box-thing, which has a lid.  The container should protect the stamps from food, beverages and little fingers until they can be sorted and mounted.  We did get a fair number of repeats, so we’ll probably just pass those on…

