Cats 101: Bambino

Dogs 101: Labrador Retriever

Dogs 101: Newfoundlands

LEGO…The Building Blocks of Fun!

The Chemistry of Cookies

It’s kind of funny how watching these dog and cat videos has made my kids want to get a dog.  Looking at different breeds and evaluating them from an academic standpoint is helping them to think critically about getting a pet.  They see that not all pets are for all people, and that even different breeds have different needs.  I’d love to get a dog someday, when my baby is older, but for now an infant is more than enough for me.

On a side note, Son 1 and I looked up Newfoundland dogs.  There aren’t any available in our area.  The closest one is over 2 hours away, and the cost is astronomical.  At least $1,000–that’s nuts!  I seriously cannot understand why people pay such huge sums of money for a purebred when they could go down to their local animal shelter and get a wonderful companion dog there for a fraction of the cost.  Sigh.

