Great question–I’m glad I asked it!

There is one simple reason that I’m starting this blog–okay two.  Well, maybe four.  Actually, I’m not sure now.  Why don’t you count the reasons once you’re done reading and let me know how many it really was.

Ahem, I wanted to start this blog to keep myself accountable as a homeschooling mother.  (Kind of have to keep the kids learning–am I right?)  Another reason is that I am lazy and don’t want to use a program that is regimented, strict, and takes up our entire day.  If I’m bored, chances are the kids will be, too.  In addition to this, I want to keep track of what we’re doing so that I can see what works, what doesn’t, what the kids enjoyed, and so I can repeat successful activities.  Finally, I want to share all of this with you, the readers.

It’s darn difficult to school your kids at home.  If it isn’t difficult academically, it is difficult emotionally at the very least.  For those who are looking for a more relaxed approach that fits into your everyday life, I want to share our successes (and failures) so that you can be successful (not a failure; please avoid our mistakes), too.

It’s been five or six years since I started homeschooling my eldest son, and I just now feel like I’ve finally gotten my bearings.  Perhaps it’s because of the relaxed method I’ve chosen.  How do you measure success and progress when you aren’t following a curriculum?!  But now that we’ve had some time to see whether or not we are producing children who learn, I suppose I feel more confident in this relaxed homeschooling endeavor.

At any rate, now you know the aim of my new blog.  I hope that you’ll join me for the journey.  It’s bound to be interesting, at the very least.  😉

Tata for now!

